South America Travel News

Filled With Useful Info That Travelers Use To Plan Their South America Tour

Last updated on January 14th, 2019 at 12:28 pm

argentina reciprocity feeFind out what the Update to the Argentina Reciprocity Fee is

Here’s an important update for travelers headed to Argentina: Beginning with the new year, Argentina will now require all US, Canadian, and Australian citizens to pay the reciprocity fee ahead of time.Β  Whether entering the country by land, sea, or air, all entrants will need to show proof of payment when at the border.

This update to the Argentina reciprocity fee will affect all our clients who are traveling on our Argentina tours, including our Patagonia cruises as well as those entering Argentina via the Lake District crossing from Chile, and those visiting the Iguazu Falls from Brazil.

The current procedure is that visitors to Argentina from the US, Canada, and Australia must pay an entrance fee or visitor visa equal to the amount that those countries charge Argentine travelers. Until now, this reciprocity fee has been payable on arrival. But now, all Americans, Canadians, and Australians must pay their fee online in advance. Failure to pay ahead of time will result in a denial of entry. This policy is in effect now for Aeroparque (AEP) airport and will go into effect for the Ezeiza (EZE) airport on January 1, 2013.

To pay the Argentina reciprocity fee in advance, complete the following steps:

1) Go to

2) Complete the required information and pay the reciprocity fee (per person) with a credit card

3) Print the receipt and keep it with your passport to show immigration authorities upon entry

The current fees are: $160 for the United States (valid for 10 years), $100 for Australians (valid for 1 year) and $75 for Canadians (valid for one entry).

Read this article for more information about South America travel visas and entrance fees.